Everything has a revival value… even balloons

Full of excitement, I bounded into my first job when I was 15 as a balloon shop assistant as if I was walking into Willy Wonker’s chocolate factory. The colours, the shapes, the big hearts made from lots of tiny balloons in bright pink. I wanted everything for my very own wedding and my 18th birthday could not come soon enough. Yet, a few hundred balloon events later, they somehow began to lose their shine. A few years later I decided I’d had enough of balloon displays and in fact I probably wouldn’t have any sort of balloons at my wedding or birthday for the rest of my life.

It’s from this early balloon experience I developed a strange love-hate relationship with balloons. I get so excited about new ideas, ways of dressing a room that will excite the guests so much they’ll want to touch everything in sight, and with one too many heart balloon deliveries, balloons were just not cutting it for me anymore.

Maybe the key is simplicity. Everything has a revival value and I think over the next few years balloons are going to have theirs. More importantly, I’m excited! Yes, excited to show the event industry how balloons can and should be used.

Here are a couple of examples I have found of perfect balloon use at an event. I will also be using balloons in a future ‘Cirque de Musique’ party in November.

Set in Amsterdam’s Machinegebouw, Marcel Schmalgemeijer created a magical, balloon-filled dinner party perfect for celebrating in.These peach balloons give the bride a child-like charm and add beautiful whimsy to a natural set photo opportunity.

wedding balloons These peach balloons by Hey Gorgeous Events give the bride a child-like charm and add beautiful whimsy to a natural set photo opportunity.

Leave a Reply

